Presto Discs of the Year 2015 – Winners!


Mahler: Symphony No. 9
Budapest Festival Orchestra, Iván Fischer
‘The sound he draws from his players is rich without being heavy… even when the music peters out into inaudibility at the end somehow that richness still seems to be there, which leaves an aftertaste of serenity rather than of exhausted collapse. If you like your Mahler histrionic and overwrought then this may not be the disc for you – but I found it a mature, sensitive performance throughout.’


Smetana: String Quartets Nos. 1 & 2
Pavel Haas Quartet
‘[This disc] maintains the astonishingly high standards that we have come to expect from them…Their tone, radiant one moment and poignantly hushed the next, is quite marvellous…With these highly expressive, virtuosic performances, the Pavel Haas Quartet have done it again!’